Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Former Euro 'Team of the Tournament' Players Returning to Euro 2008

These are players on the Euro 2008 squads that have been selected to the Euro "Team of the Tournament" in previous European Championship tournaments.

Petr Cech - Czech Republic (2004)
Antonis Nikopolidis - Greece (2004)

Fabio Cannavaro* - Italy (2000)
Lilian Thuram - France (2000)
Traianos Dellas - Greece (2004)
Olof Mellberg - Sweden (2004)
Ricardo Carvalho - Portugal (2004)
Georgios Seitaridis - Greece (2004)
Gianluca Zambrotta - Italy (2004)

Patrick Vieira* - France (2000)
Michael Ballack - Germany (2004)

Thierry Henry - France (2000)
Nuno Gomes - Portugal (2000)
Milan Baroš - Czech Republic (2004)
Angelos Charisteas - Greece (2004)
Henrik Larsson - Sweden (2004)
Cristiano Ronaldo - Portugal (2004)
Ruud van Nistelrooy - Netherlands (2004)

* Cannavaro has been ruled out of Euro 2008 and Vieira will miss France's first match and maybe more. Since they were included up until this week, I thought I'd leave them on the list with the dreaded asterisk.

Zinedine Zidane and Luis Figo were the only players to be selected to the Euro 'Players of the Tournament' in both 2000 and 2004. Will any of the players here make it two in a row this time around? My vote goes to Cech, Ballack, and Ronaldo as decent bets to make the team of the tournament again.

More Euro 2008 Posts:
Foreign-born Players on Euro 2008 squads
Premiership Players on Euro 2008 squads
La Liga Players on Euro 2008 squads
Serie A Players on Euro 2008 squads
Bundesliga Players on Euro 2008 squads
Club Breakdown of Euro 2008 squads
Age-Analysis of Euro 2008 squads

No comments:

Post a Comment