Sunday, June 29, 2008

Euro 2008 Final: Pre-Game Recommended Reading

Fortune favours Germany's title bid:

Final record
Germany have won three and lost two of their five previous UEFA European Championship finals. Mannschaft supporters of a superstitious bent may want to avoid studying their sequence of results, given each final victory has so far been followed by a defeat.
• 1972 USSR W 3-0
• 1976 Czechoslovakia L 2-2 aet, 3-5 on pens
• 1980 Belgium W 2-1
• 1992 Denmark L 0-2
• 1996 Czech Republic W 2-1 aet

Aragon├ęs's Spain scratch 24-year itch:

Final record
Spain lifted the Henri Delaunay trophy in 1964 when they beat reigning champions USSR 2-1 in Madrid, with Marcelino scoring the decisive goal six minutes from time. Twenty years later they lost the 1984 final to hosts France, succumbing to goals from Michel Platini and Bruno Bellone at the Parc des Princes.
• 1964 USSR W 2-1
• 1984 France L 2-0

Spain bid to end 44 years of stylish failure: The Guardian

Key tactical battles: The Guardian

Fabregas can inspire Spain to final glory: BBC Blog

Fan vs Fan: Germany-Spain:

Guiza to Propose to Partner if Spain Win:

Euro-Vienna neutrals favouring Spain over Germany: Yahoo! Sports

Injury threatens German Euro 2008 final hopes: Yahoo! Sports

Final flourish a fitting end to Euro 2008: Times Online

Losers Cesc Fabregas and Michael Ballack both want Euro2008 trophy
: Mirror

Football fever grips finalists: BBC

Aragones: Cesc not a certain starter: Setanta

No comments:

Post a Comment